The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

When pupils enter the Reception class (Owls) they will be following the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. It is likely that many pupils will have already embarked on this learning journey in previous pre-school and nursery settings. There is a strong emphasis on learning through play, pupil initiated learning and learning outside the classroom. The curriculum is organised into three prime areas of learning and four specific areas of learning:

Prime Areas of learning

Communication and Language

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical development

Specific areas of learning



Understanding the World

Expressive Art and Design

Exploring our local habitat
Working collaboratively to create a castle banquet
Making the planet Earth for the Space topic display