Religious Education

All schools are required to teach RE.  As a Church of England VA school and part of the Oxford Diocese, we follow the Buckinghamshire RE Agreed Syllabus linked to the Oxfordshire Diocese Scheme of Work.  We aim to ensure that all our pupils learn about different faiths; compare and contrast the main features of each religion; and learn not just about the religions, but from them.
Foundation Stage

It is acknowledged that children in the Foundation Stage learn through active learning and that the environment should reflect this.  Such contexts might include:

  • A home area
  • Story books
  • Dolls and puppets from different cultures
  • Artefacts
  • Interest areas
  • Dressing up boxes
  • Painting and drawing

In order to meet the Early Learning Goals and the requirements of the Bucks Agreed Syllabus, learning should include specific planned activities (for example on festivals or special places) as well as unplanned opportunities for religious understanding through circle time and everyday routines.

Key Stage 1

At Key Stage 1 the children will cover the 8 units over 2 years.  They will study Christianity plus Judaism in depth, and they will touch on other religious beliefs during the course of individual units of study.  In KS1, most learning will start with pupils’ own experiences, move into religious content and experience and through this, develop awareness of universal human experience and concepts.

Key Stage 2

In Key Stage 2 pupils will cover 12 units of study over the 4 year period.  They will study Christianity, Islam and Hinduism in depth and touch on other religious beliefs during the course of individual units of study. In KS2, most learning will start with the religious content and concepts and then reflect back to the pupils’ own experiences and self concept, developing awareness of universal human experiences and concepts.